#1 30th Dec 2017 02:58:26

NEIN
Serf
Reputation: 0

Registered: 30th Dec 2017
Posts: 1

Stronghold 1 HD (GOG AND STEAM Issues)

Specs: Win7 pro 64bit , i5-6500 CPU, GTX 960 Graphics, 16gb Ram - Fresh installation , all drivers up to date.

GOG Version issue: I launch game and screen flickers like 5-10 times and the game will sometimes load , but often it will just be a black screen and I'll have to power off PC . I've tried multiple compatibility modes , Desktop is 1920x1080 , I set resolution ingame to 1920x1080. 

Steam Version issue: Game launches fine , game runs perfect 120+ FPS steadily . issue is my game will suddenly jump from 120FPS to 15fps instantly after like 10-15 minutes of playing . when this happens I save, quit , launch game and load my save, and it runs fine again for about the same time 10-15 minutes then jumps to 15fps again.. 


if anyone knows actual fixes let me know thanks

Offline
  • 0

#2 30th Dec 2017 13:52:53

EaglePrince
Knez
Reputation: 136

From: Novi Sad, Serbia
Registered: 6th May 2014
Posts: 2,018
Website

Re: Stronghold 1 HD (GOG AND STEAM Issues)

Welcome to Stronghold Nation!

Try with the 1024x768 resolution. Even after the HD version was released, this resolution has been working the best for me. Smoothly, and without any issues.

It is impossible that Stronghold 1 works on 120 FPS. FPS in Stronghold 1 is always equal to the game speed, so when it is 40 (which is default), FPS is 40 as well. If you want FPS to be 60, game speed has to be 60 too, and game speed 90 is the maximum game speed.

Regarding the GOG version. Try setting 1024x768 resolution in the game, and when you start the game make sure no other windows have been opened.

Also, if you have two versions of the game installed on your PC, try uninstalling one of them, and reinstalling the other. Also, prior to reinstall move the Stronghold.cfg file elsewhere, you might want to have a new .cfg file, but don't delete it, back it up. If one of them is version 1.3 or lower, and the other 1.4 (which is the case with Steam version for sure), they you will certainly have issues. The 1.4 version changes the Stronghold.cfg file in a way that it makes it unusable by older versions.

Last edited by EaglePrince (30th Dec 2017 13:53:15)

Offline
  • 1
Users in this topic: 0 guests, 0 registered users

Board footer

Powered by Aura

[ Generated in 0.069 seconds, 11 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.26 MiB (Peak: 4.45 MiB) ]